

Festival: 10th- 19th January 2020, Bondi Beach, Sydney, Australia Tour: January - May 2020, 50 venues Australia-wide Patrons: Baz Luhrmann, Gillian Armstrong, Wayne Blair, Nash Edgerton

WINNERS OF THE 29th ANNUAL FLICKERFEST AWARDS ANNOUNCED

The 29th annual FLiCKERFEST International and Australian awards were announced this evening at a star-studded ceremony at the Bondi Pavilion, Bondi Beach. Attended by celebrated guests from the Australian and the International film industry, the Closing Night ceremony honored the esteemed entrants in this year's competition. FLiCKERFEST's Academy® Qualifying Awards, including Flickerfest Award for Best International Short Film, Yoram Gross Award for Best International Animation, Flickerfest Award for Best Australian Short Film & Flickerfest Award for Best Documentary. The Flickerfest Short Film Awards continue to cement the festivals global position as a leading International Short film festival on the world stage. Following the ceremony, a selection of award-winning films screened before the Closing Night Party took place.

And the winners are:

INTERNATIONAL COMPETITION AWARD WINNERS



Flickerfest Award for Best International Short Film (Academy® Accredited) Winner: The News (Albania/Spain)

Writer/Director: Lorin Terezi | Writer: Anila Balla | Producer: Anila Balla, Eduardo M Escribano Solera



Special Jury Prize

Winner: Wilma (Iceland)

Writer/Director/Producer: Hawk Bjorgnisson | Producers: Chanel Bjork Sturlodottir, Saemunder Thor Helgason, Kjarton Thor Thordarson



Yoram Gross Award for Best International Short Animation (Academy® Accredited) Winner: Mémorable (France)

Writer/Director: Bruno Collet | Producer: Jean-François Le Corre, Mathieu Courtois



SAE Creative Media Institute Award for Best Use of Digital Technology in a Short Film Mind My Mind (Netherlands/Belgium)

Writer/Director/Producer: Floor Adams Producer: Willem Thijssen, Tom Van Gestel















29th INTERNATIONAL SHORT FILM FESTIVAL

Festival: 10th- 19th January 2020, Bondi Beach, Sydney, Australia
Tour: January - May 2020, 50 venues Australia-wide
Patrons: Baz Luhrmann, Gillian Armstrong, Wayne Blair, Nash Edgerton



European Delegation in Australia Award for Best EU Short Film Winner: The Land Over There (Drubenland) - (Germany)

Writer/Director: Arne Kohlweyer | Producer: Christoph Kulkula, Eike Goreczka

Highly Commended – The Jackpot (Germany)

Writer/Director/Producer: Alice von Gwinner | Producer: Hana Geissendoerfer



Australian now ASEAN Award for Best ASEAN Region Short Film

Winner: Stay Awake, Be Ready (Vietnam)

Writer/Director/Producer: Pham Thien An, Tran Van Thi

Finalist: The Tuk Tuk Of The Fifth Kind

Writer/Director: Anysay Keola | Producers: Mattie Do, Ho Hook Doong

Finalist: Limbo

Producers: Madelaine Miraflor, John Luke Miraflor

Director: John Luke Miraflor

Highly Commended: Best Script

Evening Stroll

Writer - Candra Aditya



AZURE Productions Award for Best Rainbow Short Film The Distance Between Us & The Sky

Writer/Director: Vasilis Kekatos | Producer: Blackbird Production, Tripodes

Production

Special Mention: My Brother Is A Mermaid

Writer/Director/Producer: Alfie Dale

















Festival: 10th - 19th January 2020, Bondi Beach, Sydney, Australia Tour: January - May 2020, 50 venues Australia-wide

Patrons: Baz Luhrmann, Gillian Armstrong, Wayne Blair, Nash Edgerton

INTERNATIONAL DOCUMENTARY COMPETITION AWARD WINNER

FLICKERGEST

Flickerfest Award for Best Short Documentary Film (Academy® Accredited) Winner: All On A Mardi Gras Day (United States)

Writer/Director/Director: Michal Pietrzyk | Producer: Celeste Caliri, David Favret, Gabriel Bienczycki

F L I C K E R G E S O

Special Mention for Documentary Kachalka (Ireland)

Director: Gar O'Rourke | Producer: Ken Wardrop

AUSTRALIAN COMPETITION AWARD WINNERS

FLICKERGEST

Flickerfest Australia Award for Best Australian Short Film, (Academy® Accredited)

Winner: The Diver

Writer/Director/Producer: Michael Leonard, Jamie Helmer | Writer/Producer:

Michael Leonard | Producer: Justin Pechberty, Damien Megherbi

Special Mention: The Egg

Writer/Director/Producer: Jane Cho | Producers: Ilana Lazar

F L I C K E R G A S O

Flickerfest Award for Best Direction in an Australian Short Film Chicken

Director: Alana Hicks

Vorum Gross

Yoram Gross Award for Best Australian Short Animation

Winner: Rebooted (Australia)

Writer/Director: Michael Shanks | Producer: Nicholas Colla, Chris Hocking/LateNite

Films



John Barry Award for Best Cinematography in an Australian Short Film Blackwood

Cinematographer: Gabriel Francis

















Festival: 10th- 19th January 2020, Bondi Beach, Sydney, Australia Tour: January - May 2020, 50 venues Australia-wide

Patrons: Baz Luhrmann, Gillian Armstrong, Wayne Blair, Nash Edgerton



Avid Award for Best Editing in an Australian Short Film Backpedal

Winner: Jessica Mutascio



Avid Award for Best Original Music in an Australian Short Film The Quiet

Winner: Radheya Jegatheva



Rebel8 Award for Outstanding Emerging Female Director In honor of Samantha Rebillet: This Perfest Day

Winner: Lydia Rui for This Perfect Day

FLICKERFEST's Festival Director BRONWYN KIDD has said: We are thrilled that the 2020 festival has been such a success with record crowds and great enthusiasm expressed for the programmes screened. It's great to see short film so warmly embraced by audiences across our ten-day event. I would like to congratulate all of the films selected for Flickerfest in competition this year and all of tonight's award winners.













