

Festival: 20th - 29th January 2023, Bondi Beach, Sydney, Australia Tour: February - October 2023, 50+ venues Australia-wide

FLICKERFEST 2023, 32nd INTERNATIONAL SHORT FILM FESTIVAL WINNERS ANNOUNCED FOR 2023

'IT'S FLICKERFEST, IT'S BONDI, IT'S GREAT SHORT FILMS - IT'S THE VIBE!'

Celebrating 32 years in 2023, Flickerfest Returns To Bondi Pavilion Bondi Beach 20th - 29th January 2023

Tour: February - October 2022, 50 venues Australia-wide

PRESS RELEASE EMBARGOED UNTIL 10PM

29 January, 2023

WINNERS OF THE 32nd ANNUAL FLICKERFEST AWARDS ANNOUNCED

After a highly successful 10 day festival at Bondi, the 32nd annual FLiCKERFEST International and Australian awards were announced this evening at a star-studded ceremony at Bondi Pavilion, Bondi Beach.

Attended by celebrated guests from the Australian film industry, filmmakers and jury, the Closing Night ceremony honoured the esteemed entrants in this year's competition and FLiCKERFEST's Academy® Qualifying Awards, including Flickerfest Award for Best International Short Film, Yoram Gross Award for Best International Animation, Panasonic LUMIX Award for Best Australian Short Film & Flickerfest Award for Best Documentary.

The Flickerfest Short Film Awards continue to cement the festival's global position as a leading International Short film festival on the world stage. Following the ceremony, a selection of award-winning films screened before the Closing Night Party took place.

Flickerfest will now hit the road on a 48 venue national tour to all states and territories across Australia.

And the winners are:

INTERNATIONAL COMPETITION AWARD WINNERS

Flickerfest Award for Best International Short Film (Academy® Qualifying) 'Born to Cry' (France)

Writer/Director: Léo Grandperret | Producer: Eloi Nourry

Yoram Gross Award for Best International Animated Short Film (Academy® Qualifying) 'Pina' (Belgium/ France)

Director: Jérémy Depuydt, Gieseppe Accardo | Producer: Lucas Tothe, Maxime Feyers,

François-Xavier Willems













Festival: 20th - 29th January 2023, Bondi Beach, Sydney, Australia Tour: February - October 2023, 50+ venues Australia-wide

EU In Australia Award for Best EU Short Film

'Sami's Fugue' (France)

Writer/Director: Vincent Tricon | Producer: Said Hamich, Sophie Penson

Special Jury Prize '48 Hours' (Iran)

Writer/Director/Producer: Azadeh Moussavi

RAINBOW LGBTQI COMPETITION AWARD WINNERS

Azure Productions Award for Best Rainbow Short 'Starf#ckers' (USA)

Writer/Director: Antonio Marziale | Producer: Eli Raskin

EU In Australia Award for Best EU Rainbow Short Film 'Warsha' (France/ Lebanon)

Writer/Director: Dania Bdeir | Producer: Coralie Dias

Special Mention: for Rainbow Short

'Heartbeat' (Switzerland)

Writer/Director/Producer: Michèle Fury

INTERNATIONAL DOCUMENTARY COMPETITION AWARD WINNERS

Flickerfest Award for Best Documentary Short Film (Academy® Qualifying) 'Long Line of Ladies' (USA)

Directors: Rayka Zehtabchi, Shaandiin Tome | Producers: Sam A. Davis, Dana Kurth, Garret K Schiff, Pimm Tripp-Allen, Rayka Zehtabchi

Special Mention: for Documentary Short 'Away' (Hungary/ Portugal/ Belgium)
Writer/Director/Producer: Ruslan Fedotow













Festival: 20th - 29th January 2023, Bondi Beach, Sydney, Australia Tour: February - October 2023, 50+ venues Australia-wide

AUSTRALIAN COMPETITION AWARD WINNERS

Panasonic LUMIX Award for Best Australian Short Film (Academy® Qualifying) 'Katele (Mudskipper)'

Writer: Walter Waia | Writer/Director: John Harvey | Producer: Gillian Moody

Spectrum Films Award for Best Direction in an Australian Short Film

Director: Vee Shi for 'Jia'

Yoram Gross Award for Best Australian Animated Short Film 'Teacups'

Writer/Director: Alec Green, Finbar Watson | Producer: Alec Green, Finbar Watson, Alan Holly

AFTRS Award for Best Screenplay in an Australian Short Film 'Sushi Noh'

Writer/ Director/ Producer: Jayden Rathsam Hua | Producer: Philippa Silva

Rebel8 Award for Outstanding Emerging Female Director In honour of Samantha Rebillet Director: Alies Sluiter for 'MYTH'

John Barry Award for Best Cinematography in an Australian Short Film Cinematographer: Victor Ng for 'BLVCK GOLD'

Avid Award for Best Editing in an Australian Short Film

Editor: James A. Thomas for 'Lucky Peach'

Avid Award for Best Original Music in an Australian Short Film

Composer: James Mountain for 'Mud Crab'

Special Mentions: for Australian Short Film

'boy/beast'

Writer/ Director: Andrew Shaw | Producer: Anna Davis

'Bangay Lore'

Writer: Jahvis Loveday | Director/Producer: Jahvis Loveday, Kiahma O'Donocan













Festival: 20th - 29th January 2023, Bondi Beach, Sydney, Australia Tour: February - October 2023, 50+ venues Australia-wide

SAE FLICKERUP YOUTH COMPETITION AWARD WINNERS

SAE Creative Media Institute FlickerUp Award for Best Youth Short Film:

'The Trials and Tribulations Of Being Jordan'

Director/ Writer / Producer: Will Calleja

Special Mention for SAE Creative Media Institute FlickerUp Award for Best Youth Short Film: 'Xenos'

Director/ Writer / Producer. Koko Crozier & Lily Lunder

Yoram Gross FlickerUp Award for Best Youth Animated Film:

'Garden Thief'

Director Year 7 Doveton High

Avid FlickerUp Award for Best Editing in A Youth Short Film:

'Thief Vs Thief'

Director/ Writer / Producer: Elodie Kliendienst

PS Organic FlickerUp Jury Award for Youth Short Film:

'Medusa'

Director: Karina Cheung

FLiCKERFEST's Festival Director BRONWYN KIDD has said: We are thrilled that the 32nd Flickerfest 2023 has been such a success, with many filmmakers present to introduce their films, passionate crowds and great enthusiasm expressed for the programmes screened. It's been great to see short films so warmly embraced by audiences across our ten-day event. I would like to congratulate all of the films selected for Flickerfest in competition this year, our jury for their dedication and all of tonight's award winners.









