

Festival: 19th - 28th January 2024, Bondi Beach, Sydney, Australia Tour: February - October 2024, 40+ venues Australia-wide

FLICKERFEST 2024, 33rd INTERNATIONAL SHORT FILM FESTIVAL WINNERS ANNOUNCED

Celebrating 33 years in 2024, Bondi Pavilion Bondi Beach, 19th - 28th January 2024

Tour: February - October 2024, 40 venues Australia-wide

PRESS RELEASE EMBARGOED UNTIL 10PM- 28 January, 2024

WINNERS OF THE 33rd ANNUAL FLICKERFEST AWARDS ANNOUNCED

After a highly successful 10 day festival at Bondi, the 33rd annual FLiCKERFEST International and Australian awards were announced this evening at a star-studded ceremony at Bondi Pavilion, Bondi Beach.

Attended by celebrated guests from the Australian film industry, filmmakers and jury, the Closing Night ceremony honoured the esteemed entrants in this year's competition and FLiCKERFEST's Academy® Qualifying Awards, including the Flickerfest Award for Best International Short Film, Yoram Gross Award for Best International Animation, Panasonic LUMIX Award for Best Australian Short Film & Flickerfest Award for Best Documentary.

The Flickerfest Short Film Awards continue to cement the festival's global position as a leading International Short film festival on the world stage. Following the ceremony, a selection of award-winning films screened before the Closing Night Party took place.

Flickerfest will now hit the road on a 40+ venues national tour to all states and territories across Australia.

And the winners are:

INTERNATIONAL COMPETITION AWARD WINNERS

Flickerfest Award for Best International Short Film (Academy® Qualifying) 'A Study Of Empathy' (Germany)

Writer/Director: Hilke Rönnfeldt | Producer: Asbjørn H. Kelstrup

Yoram Gross Award for Best International Animated Short Film (Academy® Qualifying) 'Tapir Memories' (Columbia/Switzerland)

Writer/Directors: Pedro Nel Cabrera Vanegas | Producer: Fred Truniger

EU In Australia Award for Best EU Short Film

'I Am Not A Robot' (The Netherlands)

Writer/Director: Victoria Warmerdam | Producers: Trent, Oak Motion Pictures

Flickerfest Special Jury Award

'The Masterpiece' (Spain)

Director: Alex Lora | Writer/Producer: Lluis Quilez | Producer: Sandra Trave

















Festival: 19th - 28th January 2024, Bondi Beach, Sydney, Australia Tour: February - October 2024, 40+ venues Australia-wide

INTERNATIONAL DOCUMENTARY COMPETITION AWARD WINNERS

Flickerfest Award for Best Documentary Short Film (Academy® Qualifying) 'Finding Alaa' (UK/Canada)

Director: Myriam Francois

Producers: Lesley Birchard, Christopher Mitchell, Adam Grimley, Dominique Young

Flickerfest Special Jury Award for Documentary Short 'Remember, Broken Crayons Colour Too' (Switzerland)

Writer/Director: Ursa Kastelic, Shanet Clemmings

Producer: Fillipo Bonacci

RAINBOW LGBTQI COMPETITION AWARD WINNERS

Azure Productions Award for Best Rainbow Short

'Marungka Tjalatjunu (Dipped In Black)' (Australia)

Writer/Director/Producer: Matthew Thorne | Writer/Director: Derik Lynch

Producer: Patrick Graham

EU In Australia Award for Best EU Rainbow Short Film

'Slow Down The Fall' (Germany)

Writer/Director: Camille Tricaud | Director: Franziska Unger

Producer: Felix Herrmann, Maximilian Bungarten

SPECIAL MENTIONS OF THE JURY FOR RAINBOW SHORT FILM

Happy New Year, Ms. Luna

Writer/Director: Andy Diep | Producer: Michelle Ny, Vada Gock, Yingna Lu

&

Flowers From Another Patio (Flores Del Otro Patio)

Writer/Director: Jorge Cadena Writer: Li Aparicio Candama |

Producer: Yan Decoppet, Gabriela Bussmann













Festival: 19th - 28th January 2024, Bondi Beach, Sydney, Australia Tour: February - October 2024, 40+ venues Australia-wide

AUSTRALIAN COMPETITION AWARD WINNERS

Panasonic LUMIX Award for Best Australian Short Film (Academy® Qualifying) 'Yeah The Boys'

Writer: Vanessa Marian Varghese | Director: Stefan Hunt | Producer: Alex Taussig

Spectrum Films Award for Best Direction in an Australian Short Film Director Kalu Oji for 'What's In A Name'

Yoram Gross Award for Best Australian Animated Short Film 'Duwarra Wujara'

Writer: Dinah Norman a-Marrngawi | Director/Producer: Brent D McKee, John Bradley

AFTRS Award for Best Screenplay in an Australian Short Film

Writers: Jay Perry & Shaun Perry for 'Cold Water'

John Barry Award for Best Cinematography in an Australian Short Film Cinematographer: Jack McAvoy for 'Dancing Girl & The Balloon Man'

Avid Award for Best Editing in an Australian Short Film

Editor: Phoebe Taylor for 'How Can I Help You'

Avid Award for Best Original Music in an Australian Short Film

Composer: Samuel Weiss for 'Gorgo'

Specsavers Award for Best Australian Comedy Short Film 'Lean In'

Writer/Director/Producer: Lucy Coleman

Producers: Lucy Hayes, Deanne Weir, Kartanya Maynard

Rebel8 Award for Outstanding Emerging Female Director In honour of Samantha Rebillet

Director: **Grace Louey** for 'Portrait'













Festival: 19th - 28th January 2024, Bondi Beach, Sydney, Australia Tour: February - October 2024, 40+ venues Australia-wide

FLICKERUP YOUTH COMPETITION AWARD WINNERS

AFTRS FlickerUp Award for Best Youth Short Film 'Tea's Ready'

Writer/Director/Producer: Enes Guven

Special Mention for AFTRS FlickerUp Award for Best Youth Short Film

'Hot Chip' Writer/Director/Producer: Edie Farrar-Matson

'The Locket': Writer/Director: Charli Fletcher | Producer: Raymond Mendez

'Chrysalis' Writer/Director: Raphael Dunn | Producer: Hilda Bezuidenhout, Karen Dunn

Yoram Gross FlickerUp Award for Best Youth Animated Short Film 'Self Portrait'

Writer: Nina Street, Grace Louey | Director: Grace Louey | Producer: Phil Ross, Beier Zhang

Avid FlickerUp Award for Best Editing in A Youth Short Film 'Fever Bloom'

Writer/Director/Producer: Finn Harrison

Saba Premium Beverages FlickerUp Jury Award for Youth Short Film 'Noonday Demon'

Writer/Director/Producer: Rylee O'Keeffe

FLICKERFEST's Festival Director BRONWYN KIDD has said: We are thrilled that the 33rd Flickerfest 2024 has been such a success, with many filmmakers present to introduce their films, passionate crowds and great enthusiasm expressed for the programmes screened. It's been great to see short films so warmly embraced by audiences across our ten-day event. I would like to congratulate all of the films selected for Flickerfest in competition this year, our jury for their dedication and all of tonight's award winners.













