28th FLiCKERFEST Awards Announced for 2019!

21st January 2019


The 28th annual FLiCKERFEST International and Australian awards were announced this evening at a star-studded ceremony at the Bondi Pavilion, Bondi Beach. Attended by celebrated guests from the Australian and the International film industry, the Closing Night ceremony honored the esteemed entrants in this year’s competition. FLiCKERFEST’s Academy® Accredited Awards, including Flickerfest Award for Best International Short Film, Yoram Gross Award for Best International Animation, Virgin Australia Award for Best Australian Short Film & Flickerfest Award for Best Documentary. The Flickerfest Short Film Awards continue to cement the festivals global position as a leading International Short film festival on the world stage. Following the ceremony, a selection of award-winning films screened before the Closing Night Party took place.

Download: Flickerfest 2019 Awards press release here

And the winners are:


Flickerfest logo
Flickerfest Award for Best International Short Film (Academy® Accredited)

Phone Duty (Russian Federation)

Writer/Director: Lenar Kamalov

Producer: Lenar Kamalov and Natalia Frovolova

Flickerfest logo
Special Jury Prize

The Mandarin Tree (Germany)

Writers: Cengiz Akaygün, Duc-Thi Bui

Director: Cengiz Akaygün

Producer: Philipp Lutz

Yoram Gross Films logo
Yoram Gross Award for Best International Short Animation (Academy® Accredited)

Flowing Through Wonder (France)

Writer/Director: Joana Lurie and Jean –Marc Bouzigues

Producer Christian Pfohl

SAE Qantm logo
SAE Creative Media Institute Award for Best Use of Digital Technology in a Short Film

Between The Shadows (Portugal)

Writer/Director Mónica Santos and Alice Guimarães

Producers: Nuno Amorim, Vanessa Ventura, Jean-François Le Corre,

Mathieu Courtois and Pedro Medeiros

EU Del Aust
European Delegation in Australia Award for Best EU Short Film

Best Game Ever (Hungary)

Writer/director: Kristóf Deák

Producers: László Dreissiger, Anna Udvardy, Gábor Osváth


Flickerfest logo
Flickerfest Award for Best Short Documentary Film (Academy® Accredited)

The Unconditional (United States)

Director: Dave Adams , Writer: Matt Cascella

Producer: Dave Adams, Adam Soltis, Renee Woodruff Adams, Chris Tuss

Flickerfest logo
Special Mention for Documentary

Hamama & Caluna (Switzerland)

Writer/Director: Andreas Anuuk Mugli

Producer: Edith Fluckinger


Virgin Australia logo
Virgin Australia Award for Best Australian Short Film, (Academy® Accredited)

Yulubidyi – Until The End

Writer/Director: Nathan Mewett and Curtis Taylor

Producer: Glen Stasiuk

Canon logo
Canon Award for Best Direction in an Australian Short Film

Tangles And Knots

Writer/Director: Renée Marie Petropoulos

Producer: Janet Brown and Yingna Lu

Yoram Gross Films logo
Yoram Gross Award for Best Australian Short Animation

Della Mortika: Carousel Of Shame

Director: Marisa Martin

Writer Geraldine Martin

Producer: Marisa and Geraldine Martin

John Barry Sales
John Barry Award for Best Cinematography in an Australian Short Film

Nursery Rhymes

Cinematographer: Aaron McLisky

Avid logo
Avid Award for Best Editing in an Australian Short Film

All These Creatures

Editor: Dan Lee and Charles Williams

Avid logo
Special Mention


Editor: Danielle Boesenberg

Avid logo
Avid Award for Best Original Music in an Australian Short Film


Composer: Jed Palmer

Samantha Rebillet award
Rebel8 Award for Outstanding Emerging Female Director In honor of Samantha Rebillet


Writer/Director Miley Tunnecliffe

FLiCKERFEST’s Festival Director BRONWYN KIDD has said: We are thrilled that the 2019 festival has been such a success with record crowds and great enthusiasm expressed for the programmes screened. It’s great to see short film so warmly embraced by audiences across our ten-day event. I would like to congratulate all of the films selected for Flickerfest in competition this year and all of tonight’s award winners.

Categories: News, Press Releases